Way of Eating

A Week In The Life

I’ve had a number of people ask me, “What do you eat?” “How do you know what you can have?” “Aren’t you hungry?”

The answers are: “All kinds of stuff!”, “I took the time to learn!”, and “NO!- and if I am, I eat something extra!”

People seem to get easily overwhelmed by the thought of making a big dietary change, and I get it. There IS a learning curve- but once you take the time to educate yourself, and just start to play, you’ll find your flow!

I decided to grab a quick photo of everything I ate last week to give anyone who is curious a visual. You’ll note that there is a lot of repetition in my week. I am a lover of routine, and a big weekend prep cook. These 2 things combine to make my weeks see a lot of similarity in meals, but it works for me!

New this week- a Facebook group! I’d love to be able to have a more convenient way to discuss posts & answer questions, so join in! Add your questions & comments under the topics I add when we put new posts up!

IMG_4306

IMG_4307
Monday- When I wake up, I always have a small cup of coffee with 1 Tbs of heavy whipping cream- this does not open my eating window, but it DOES help convince me to get out of bed! At 11 am, I open my eating window with a large cup of coffee. Between 1:30 and 3:30- whenever I get hungry- I have my first food meal. On Monday, it was a homemade ketogenic Asiago bagel with an over medium egg on it. I enjoyed a LaCroix throughout the afternoon. For dinner I had my homemade Creamy Tuscan Chicken with roasted broccoli, then for dessert, I had a DELICIOUS homemade ketogenic vanilla bean ice cream bar. 

IMG_4308

IMG_4309
Tuesday- The usual coffee routine. I had tested a recipe for a keto cake over the weekend. It had a fair number of issues, so I probably won’t be making it again, but it tasted ok. I had a piece with my big cup of coffee. For lunch, I had a homemade keto everything bagel with cream cheese, tomato, smoked salmon & capers. The rest of the day was the same as Monday. 

IMG_4322

IMG_4323
Wednesday- The usual coffee routine, then a toasted homemade keto Asiago bagel with butter and cream cheese with some roasted Brussels sprouts on the side for my first meal. Dinner was a big Italian salad, followed by a keto ice cream bar.

IMG_4332

IMG_4333
Thursday- Coffee routine, then a pre made salmon meal from the fridge. I had a snack of guacamole with pork rinds- I KNOW! Don’t knock it until you have tried it, and DEFINITELY try to find some homemade ones. They sell them at Farmers Markets near me. The ones at the store are gross! Dinner was a toasted keto everything bagel with butter and cream cheese.

IMG_4350

IMG_4351
TGIF, right??? Friday began like every other day with my coffee routine. Meal 1 was an over medium egg on a toasted & buttered keto everything bagel. Dinner was the last of the Creamy Tuscan Chicken with the last of the roasted broccoli, and I tested a recipe for Lemon Blueberry keto muffins- BIG WIN! You’ll see that recipe in an upcoming post! 
Leave a Reply

